Challenge Accepted!

When I took on a new role at work nearly two years ago, I thought about starting a blog. I would be writing less at my “day job” and wanted a place to share my thoughts and keep my skills sharpened. So I started this site and was very, very dedicated… for about two weeks.

Then, as it does, life happened.

Nothing wild and crazy, no major turmoil or upheavals, just life. As in, wanting to spend more time with my growing-up-too-fast daughter and farmer husband. Trying to keep our clothes clean and our house clean and the dirty dishes clean (which, thanks to my Christmas/birthday gift of a dishwasher last year, is much easier! Yes, I was married nearly 10 years without one.) Keeping my commitments to church and community activities, and to friends and family, while still having a little bit of time to watch The Big Bang Theory. You know, LIFE.

But I always wanted to come back to this blog. I think sharing our stories about agricultural life is important, especially today when there are so many voices out there. Great voices, like Illinois Farm Girl, Confessions of a Farm Wife, and Lessons from the Levee, and too many others to name – but also voices who speak out against today’s agriculture and our values. It’s not right for me to sit here and complain about how this is a problem, though, unless I take action to be part of the solution. (This also seems like a good time to put in a plug for voting in this year’s election. It’s important! Please register if you aren’t already, and take advantage of the opportunity to let your opinion be heard at the polls!)

So when I saw the My Generation blog challenge of 30 Days of Agriculture during the month of November, it seemed like just the right motivation for me to pick this little old blog up, blow off the dust (like I do with the knick-knacks on the shelves in the living room), and make it into something better. They say it takes 21 days to make or break a habit, so the 30 days I will be posting here should be enough to make it seem routine.

So stay tuned during the month of November for “30 Things I Want My Farm Girl To Know.” They won’t be in any special order, and some will be serious, some will be silly. But they’ll all be from the heart.

6 responses to this post.

  1. […] Country Girl Creations: 30 Things I Want My Farm Girl to Know […]

    Reply

  2. […] can’t believe it’s already November 1st and time to start the 30 Days blog challenge! I’ve been thinking about what I plan to share with you this month for awhile and I’m […]

    Reply

  3. […] Country Girl Creations: 30 Things I Want My Farm Girl to Know    […]

    Reply

  4. […] Country Girl Creations: 30 Things I Want My Farm Girl to Know […]

    Reply

  5. […] Country Girl Creations: 30 Things I Want My Farm Girl to Know […]

    Reply

  6. […] Country Girl Creations: 30 Things I Want My Farm Girl to Know    […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

