Thankful Tuesday: “Thank You Momma!”

So yesterday, this happened at our house:

Just like Daddy's!

Just like Daddy’s!

Little C has a kid-sized sofa that she loves to sit on and watch Sesame Street and read books. Unfortunately, her sippy cup of milk leaked on it and we didn’t realize it until it started to stink. I’m trying to get the smell out of the foam because I would really like to keep it, so if anyone has a great idea, please share!

We’d been talking about getting her a little recliner for Christmas anyway, so Big C told me to just go get one to replace the couch. I’d seen them at Gordman’s (love that place!) and had a 20 percent off coupon burning a hole in my purse, so that’s what I did yesterday on my lunch hour.

When I showed it to Little C, at first she didn’t quite know what to think. Then I showed her how the footrest raised up, just like Daddy’s, and she grinned from ear to ear. I set it up in the living room and the first thing she said was “Thank you, Momma!”

Melt. My. Heart.

We’ve been working on saying “Please” and “Thank you,” because I think good manners are important even for little children. If she is able to ask for something, I think she needs to learn how to ask nicely. Yes, this sometimes backfires – she’s told me to “Say please” several times when I’ve asked her to do things! But it does make me feel like I’m doing something right, as I’m learning how to be a parent, when she remembers on her own.

So today, out of my many, many blessings, I choose to focus on a little voice saying “Thank you, Momma!”

Leave a Reply

