Day 2: Keep the Faith

The senior saying I chose to be printed in my high school yearbook read:

“The greatest example of faith is a person planting a seed in the ground.”

Soybeans

As farmers, we are called on daily to have faith in nearly every aspect of our livelihood. So many things are out of our control – weather, markets, mechanical issues, weather, seed quality, land availability, weather – that some may think we’re crazy. And maybe, just a little bit, we are. But the reward of a bountiful, safe harvest is enough to keep us going through the uncertain times – to keep the faith.

I am blessed to have been raised in a God-fearing family. I had wonderful examples of faith in my grandparents, parents, and other extended family members who taught me the importance of “being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see (Hebrews 11:1).” I know Big C also had a similar blessing growing up and we both feel that is the single greatest gift we could have ever received from our parents.

If I do nothing else as a mother, I hope to plant in Little C the seeds of faith that will bloom and grow into the kind of faith that sustains and nourishes her all the days of her life.

Little C, my little farm girl, I pray that you will be faithful.

Thanks for joining me on my 30 Days journey!

Day 1

13 responses to this post.

  1. Great sentiment. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

