Day 6: Respect the Past

I recently completed a personality trait assessment at work and one of the things the book said I would likely enjoy was caring for and preserving items of historical importance in both the workplace and in the family. It said I would be the type of person who catalogs, preserves, and treasures items that tell the story of the past.

Guess what? That book is right.

One of my favorite tasks at work is collecting items for our company archive. I’ve had my home compared to a museum. We enjoy collecting farm antiques and displaying the more unique pieces. I grew up with a father and grandfather who collected and restored many antique tractors, and we spent many a summer day at tractor shows (actually, we still do, because I married a guy with the rusty iron disease!) I truly enjoy learning about history that I can personally relate to.

One piece of the collection!

One piece of the collection!

In the past century, agriculture has changed at an almost unbelievable pace. A hundred years ago, many farmers still relied on literal horse power to complete their work. Corn yields were less than 40 bushels per acre. Soybeans were a minor crop, mostly used for hay, and the Dust Bowl was nearly two decades away.

I can’t imagine what it must have been like to be a farm wife and mother back then.

The words of the FFA Creed come to mind: “In the promise of better days through better ways, even as the better things we now enjoy have come to us from the struggles of former years.” Amen.

Tractor Show

By learning about the past and trying to understand it, we can create a future our great-grandparents probably couldn’t have even dreamed of. But you can’t know where you’re going if you don’t know where you’ve been.

Little C, my little farm girl, I want you to develop a respect for agricultural history, so you can be part of agriculture’s future.

 

Thanks for reading along!

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

Day 4

Day 5

8 responses to this post.

  1. […] « Day 6: Respect the Past […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

