Day 8: Drop Everything and Read!

Confession time: When I found out Little C was on the way, one of the first things I thought was “Now I have a reason to buy children’s books!”

Dr. Seuss. Little Golden Books. The Very Hungry Caterpillar. Once Upon a Potty, even. All treasured favorites from my childhood.

Confession #2: When she turned out to be a little girl, I became even MORE excited, and thankful that my mom kept most of my books.

American Girl. The Boxcar Children. The Little House series. Charlotte’s Web. And who can forget – The Babysitters’ Club?!  (Mom even kept my official Babysitters Club fan club poster, which I hope Little C will someday display as proudly as I did.)

I grew up surrounded by books, and spent many enjoyable hours reading. I still do, when I can find time here or there. A co-worker recommended audio books, and those have kept me company on several long car trips recently.

The enjoyment of reading is a great blessing my parents gave me as a child, and I want Little C to grow up in an environment where books are plentiful, accessible, and habitual. I’ve read to her every day since before she was born, and ever since she could hold one, she’s loved turning the pages of the books filling her shelves.

Reading

I want her to read because she wants to, not only because she has to. I will encourage her to seek out topics she enjoys and make sure there are always interesting titles at home to choose from. I’m excited to revisit some of my old favorites with her, and read new things she discovers and recommends someday.

I want her to learn how to read for pleasure, but also for content. Reading opens so many doors and the ability to comprehend the written word and apply it to everyday situations is a critical skill for success, no matter what.

Little C, my little farm girl, I want to you grow up with a love of reading.

 

Here’s the rest of the series:

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

Day 4

Day 5

Day 6

Day 7

8 responses to this post.

  1. I love your challenge topic and totally agree that reading is the BEST! Look forward to more posts 🙂

    Reply

  2. Thank you, Tami! It’s bee fun so far!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

