Day 9: Hey Good Lookin’, Whatcha Got Cookin’?

The day I finally felt like a real grown up wasn’t the day I graduated from college, the day I started a real job with benefits, or bought my first car.

It was the day I cooked a meal for my whole family, start to finish, on my own.

Salad, ham, potatoes, green beans, rolls, and dessert, all cooked correctly and done at the right time, it was quite an accomplishment!

I enjoy cooking and baking and have been doing both for years, starting with 4-H (Jackpot Drop Cookies, anyone?). I think it’s fun to take a recipe from a cookbook or magazine and try it, making it my own with ingredients from my well-stocked farm freezer and pantry. Even though I work in a larger city and drive right by several grocery stores every day, I still keep many staples on hand “just in case,” just as my mom does. I like knowing that no matter what, I can always at least make something for supper on nights I just don’t feel like spending one more minute in town.

Cooking

Sharing a meal is a time-honored connection with those we love. Knowing where the ingredients come from and the love put into making even the simplest of meals makes every bite taste better. Time I spend in the kitchen making healthy, delicious meals for my family is a great joy in my life, and sitting down together to eat is an important ritual I will protect even as Little C grows up and life becomes busier with her activities.

Even during the busiest of times – spring and fall – we still make an effort to share a meal together, even though our table is the folding kind and our dining room is a field. The short break in the day to recharge, catch up on the day’s happenings, and of course fill our bellies is so important when Big C goes to work early in the morning and often doesn’t return until Little C’s been in bed for a while.

Fall of 2013 - enjoying a cracker during the evening supper break.

Fall of 2013 – enjoying a cracker during the evening supper break.

One of her favorite toys right now is a kitchen set and box of play food and dishes, and I love it when she goes in the playroom and says “Cooking!” when I ask what she’s doing. I’ve already allowed her to help me add ingredients to cookie batter and she’s a pro at licking the beaters.

Little C, my little farm girl, I hope you learn to cook with love and enjoy sharing meals with your father and me, and the rest of your family, for many years to come.

Thanks for hanging around!

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

Day 4

Day 5

Day 6

Day 7

Day 8

8 responses to this post.

  1. this is just the loveliest.

    Reply

  2. I love the title!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sarah on November 10, 2014 at 1:55 pm

    Oh my…. Jackpot Drop cookies!

    Reply

  4. […] « Day 9: Hey Good Lookin’, Whatcha Got Cookin’? […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

