Day 11: R-E-S-P-E-C-T

Little C is blessed.

Blessed in many ways she doesn’t even realize yet.

And one of the greatest of those blessings is the fact that she has five great-grandparents living, close enough to see regularly, and in good enough health to enjoy spending time with her.

Four generations with my mom's mother.

Four generations with my mom’s mother.

I think that is pretty amazing.

Four generations with Big C's dad's parents.

Four generations with Big C’s dad’s parents.

To start her life with the opportunity to learn from her great-grandparents, with all their collective wisdom and life experiences, is such a blessing for not only her, but also for me as I watch the joy she brings them. We’re going to spend as much time as we can, for as long as we can, with these very special people, so she can hopefully make strong memories of time spent with them.

Four generations with my dad's parents.

Four generations with my dad’s parents.

I knew two of my great-grandmothers, one on each side of the family. One passed away when I was in sixth grade, in her 90s, and the other my freshman year of high school at I believe 102 years old. I enjoy the memories I have of both women, and the stories passed along by my family about their lives. I have so much respect for the things they went through as farm wives in a world when living on the farm was vastly different than it is today.

I want Little C to grow up with the same respect for her great-grandparents and grandparents as I have for mine. They are great examples of faith and perseverance, of committed marriages and good parenting. I want her to understand the type of people who deserve her respect, and it’s people she’ll find first right in her own family tree.

I want her to want to spend time listening to their stories, learning about their lives, and loving time spent doing a variety of things. I want her to be patient, helpful, compassionate, and polite around them and others like them who deserve those behaviors.

My paternal grandpa served in the Army during the Korean War. He has shared a few stories about his service with us over the years, but like many in his generation, doesn’t talk a lot about his service. I hope he’ll be able to share some of his stories with Little C, when she’s old enough to understand, because he, like all veterans, also deserve our utmost respect for their sacrifices for each of us.

Little C, around four months old, welcoming home Pa-Pa Bob after his Honor Flight to Washington D.C. last summer.

Little C, around four months old, welcoming home Pa-Pa Bob after his Honor Flight to Washington D.C. last summer.

Little C, my little farm girl, I hope you learn to respect those who deserve your respect, and someday realize how blessed your are to need look no farther than your own family to begin.

In case you missed one:

Day 1

Day 2

Day 3

Day 4

Day 5

Day 6

Day 7

Day 8

Day 9

Day 10

3 responses to this post.

  1. […] « Day 11: R-E-S-P-E-C-T […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

