Day 18: Be Yourself!

I love how Little C enjoys playing dress-up. She loves to find pretty patterned clothes in my closet and put them on, calling them dresses. Sometimes, though, it’s not only shirts she finds:

Pretty!Yep, that would be my underwear out of a laundry basket. We’re definitely going to have to have a talk about not wearing underwear on the outside!

She’s also started clomping around in my shoes and has definite opinions on which clothes she wants to wear most days. When she’s able to dress herself, I can’t wait to see the combinations she will come up with!

Pants or a hat?

Adults could certainly learn from the way kids are so willing to pretend to be whatever catches their fancy and not care about what they “should” be interested in. Somewhere along the way, we too often lose that childlike part of ourselves that is curious about the world around us and fearless enough to try things that may seem different.

I want to instill enough self-confidence in Little C that she is always comfortable being herself, even it it means others around her think she’s “different” or “uncool.” If she wants to pursue a unique hobby, I will help her learn as much as she can. If she wants to push the fashion envelope, I’ll help her shop as long as it’s modest (remember the talk we’re going to have about underwear as outerwear?) And if she finds herself going against popular opinion in order to live up to her values, her dad and I will back her up even if her “friends” fall away.

I’ve had a couple quotes in mind as I wrote this evening. One is something my mother used to say to me when I faced tough times growing up: “Always stand up for what is right, even if you stand alone.” The other is from Judy Garland, perhaps most famous herself for playing a Kansas farm girl: “Always be a first-rate version of yourself and not a second-rate version of someone else.”

Little C, my little farm girl, you’re amazing just the way you are. Please don’t try to be anyone but the very special girl God made you to be!

Leave a Reply

