Day 22: Many Interests Make You Interesting!

Picking up toys this evening, I noticed quite a variety. Baby dolls. Tractors. Little People on the farm, playground, racetrack, and school bus. An Ernie toy that snores and says “I feel great!” when you pick him up.

I hope Little C always pursues such a wide spectrum of interests!

Motorcycle

In my post yesterday, I talked about my 4-H experience. Over my 4-H career, I took nearly every project offered in our county, with the exception of livestock, woodworking, and model rocketry. It was a lot of fun to learn about so many different things and complete projects related to them.

I also was (and still am, when I have time) an avid reader, and I don’t limit my choices to one particular genre. I’ve learned so much by reading different books, magazines, and news sources.

Knowing a little bit about a lot of different things, and being naturally curious, helps break the ice with almost anyone you may meet. Being able to find some common ground with a shared hobby or interest, or having a genuine interest in hearing about something I’m not familiar with, has led me to some very interesting conversations with very interesting people. And I hope that being able to contribute something unique myself makes me interesting, too.

Cabbage Patch

I don’t want Little C to ever feel that she shouldn’t pursue an interest because she’s a girl, or from a farm, or for any other arbitrary reason. If she wants to learn everything there is to know about sea creatures, or dinosaurs, or internal combustion engines, then we’ll go to the library, or a museum, or I’ll send her out to the shop with her dad. I want her to keep the childlike curiosity she has right now for the rest of her life.

Little C, my little farm girl, always keep wondering about what you don’t know, and never put a limit on what you find interesting.

Leave a Reply

