Day 24: Learn to Bend

I have to make a confession. Tonight’s topic is something I really want to teach Little C, but I have a ways to go on it myself.

I want her to learn how to be flexible.

So this isn't the meaning of flexible I'm writing about, but seriously, how can kids do this? Her behind is nearly touching the ground but she's still on her feet!

So this isn’t the meaning of flexible I’m writing about, but seriously, how can kids do this? Her behind is nearly touching the ground but she’s still on her feet!

Sometimes, no matter how carefully you plan, things happen that change everything. That’s something that I’m better at accepting now than I was a few years ago, but I still have my days when I don’t take things in stride so well. I’m a work in progress (aren’t we all?) and I think that’s an important lesson to teach Little C, too: we all have things we need to work on, nobody’s perfect, and together we can make each other better people.

Growing up on the farm, sometimes it was hard for me to understand why I sometimes had to miss a ball game because my mom was taking supper to the field or why we couldn’t make plans during certain times of the year because it all depended on the weather. As a child, I didn’t realize what all it took for my parents and grandparents to make the farm successful – lots of time, lots of work, and lots of sacrifice. Now I absolutely do get it, and appreciate so dearly what they’ve built up for future generations.

I hope Little C will give us grace as she grows up, for the times we have to change plans or adjust schedules at the last minute. On the farm, so much is ruled by Mother Nature, and we have to play by her rules to plant, fertilize, and harvest.

The ability to be flexible and adapt to changing situations, to go with the flow, roll with the punches, is a skill that will do her well throughout her life. No plan is ever 100 percent foolproof, and having a backup or at least a good attitude about alterations is key. Like I said, I’m not quite there yet, but “growing up” and especially motherhood have really brought me a long way!

Little C, my little farm girl, I hope you can learn to bend when life doesn’t go quite the way you plan.

Leave a Reply

