Day 25: A Joyful Noise!!

Recently we were driving somewhere, and often as we drive, Little C and I will sing songs. She was a little fussy, so I asked if she wanted to sing.

“Do you want to sing ABCs?” “No.”

“Twinkle Twinkle Little Star?” “No.”

“Itsy Bitsy Spider?” “No.”

“Jesus Loves Me?” “No.”

Running out of her favorites, I asked the first thing that came to mind: “Folsom Prison Blues?”

Pause from the backseat. Then “OK!”

Big C and I looked at each other, laughing, and broke out with “I hear the train a-comin’, it’s rollin’ round the bend…”

I hope music – good music – is always part of Little C’s life. I don’t care if she can’t carry a tune in a bucket (I sure can’t!) but there is such joy in singing along to a favorite song. Music has the power to elicit emotion and memories like no other medium.

This little playhouse plays several different songs. I think I have a couple of them permanently stuck in my head.

This little playhouse plays several different songs. I think I have a couple of them permanently stuck in my head.

Every time certain songs come on my iPod, for just a moment I’m back in high school. Whenever “our song” comes on the radio, I remember our wedding day. Hymns sung at my grandpa’s funeral bring back sweet thoughts of him whenever we sing them during church services. As Clint Black sings, “Ain’t it funny how a melody – can bring back a memory – take you to another place in time – completely change your state of mind.”

As a child, the first music I remember liking, besides nursery rhymes and Sunday school songs, was Elvira by the Oak Ridge Boys and I’m a Believer by the Monkees. My parents had both songs on records that I used to play over and over. My musical tastes have changed over the years, from oldies to pop to country to classic rock, and if you listen to my playlist you’ll notice some variety still today. My preference, though is “classic” country, when the songs told a story.

When I was pregnant, I remember telling someone that my child will know Johnny Cash before Justin Bieber. Based on her request the other day in the car, so far so good!

It's tough to find a picture to represent singing! I hope she's always this happy to open the hymnal during church services.

It’s tough to find a picture to represent singing! I hope she’s always this happy to open the hymnal during church services.

A lot of what passes for music these days, though, isn’t very good. Messages and language used aren’t things I want her to listen to. I’ve become much more attuned when listening to the radio with her around, and more than once have changed the station or turned it off completely. I hope one day, when she’s choosing her own entertainment, that she’ll make wise choices with what she consumes.

Little C, my little farm girl, music can be a wonderful addition to your life. I hope you’ll grow to appreciate a variety of different styles and learn to discern the good from the bad.

Leave a Reply

