Day 26: Be Good to Yourself

Today was a big day. One of the last of the firsts.

Little C had her first haircut.

Haircut

Just a little trim of the bangs that were falling down into her eyes, but her first one nonetheless. She was so good, didn’t try to wiggle or fuss. My stylist said she wished all her first haircuts were so easy. Little C even got a cute certificate with her name and a lock of hair that we can keep in her baby book. (Which, for the record, is nowhere near up to date. I have the big stuff noted on a calendar, but I haven’t found the time to transfer it into her actual book. I really hope I’m not alone here.)

This was the first in a lifetime of haircuts, some of which she’ll love and some of which she may not. She may experiment with color, curl, or accessories, or be more like her momma and need something very, very simple. No matter what she chooses to do with her hair over the years, it’s just one important part in taking care of herself.

Too often, we get wrapped up in the stuff of life and don’t always take as good of care of ourselves as we should. We don’t eat well, we don’t get enough sleep, and we put off going to the doctor. I know as a mom who works outside the home that I fall short in a lot of these major things, and even some of the more minor things like remembering to use lotion before my hands are so chapped they hurt or even painting my toenails. But especially in the last couple years, once Little C became a part of my life, it’s brought a new perspective to self-care:

It’s not selfish. It’s important to do what needs to be done so I can be here for her as long as I can be.

Seriously, how cute is this?

Seriously, how cute is this?

It started with the regular appointments during pregnancy, to make sure we both were healthy. It’s inspired me to wear a FitBit, although I don’t always squeeze in as much activity as I should. It even encouraged me to have a nagging health concern checked out, and now that I’m being treated, I wonder why I didn’t do it sooner.

It’s also important to nurture the mental aspects of health. I try to maintain a few hobbies that help me unwind and de-stress when life gets a little crazy. I’ll encourage her to find some of the same outlets as she grows up, and maybe we’ll even learn some new things together!

Especially on the farm, especially at certain times of the year, it’s absolutely critical to be the best you can be, physically and mentally. The work is too dangerous, too important to not be at the top of your game, and it all starts by making a commitment to treat yourself well.

Little C, my little farm girl, remember that taking care of yourself, mentally and physically, isn’t selfish. It’s the only way you’ll be able to accomplish all you wish to do in life.

Leave a Reply

