Day 28: Hang In There!

It seems fitting to write about perseverance tonight, when I have only a few more posts to complete my 30 Day Challenge. I knew when I committed to it that I’d finish, but that decision was not made lightly. It’s important to keep your word, in big things and little things, and I want Little C to understand the importance of hanging in there.

Many things in life take work. Most people don’t wake up one morning and suddenly have the ability to play an instrument, or fix an engine, or knit a blanket. All sorts of things worth doing take time and practice to be successful, and that part isn’t always fun or glamorous.

It took awhile to decide she could manage the slide on her own, but now it's one of her favorites!

It took awhile to decide she could manage the slide on her own, but now it’s one of her favorites!

It can be frustrating and it can make you feel like giving up. And many people do, when things get hard. But the feeling of accomplishment when you achieve a goal you’ve given your all to achieve is unlike any other feeling in the world.

In today’s “everybody gets a trophy” world, we’re losing some of the life skills gained from healthy competition. Not everyone can be the best at everything, and that’s perfectly fine! Everyone has their own special set of God-given talents, and although it may take some longer to find theirs, once you do, you’re unstoppable.

Just when Momma thought she didn't know how to get up on the kitchen chairs, guess what?

Just when Momma thought she didn’t know how to get up on the kitchen chairs, guess what?

I’ll support Little C in any endeavor she wishes to pursue. However, I know she’s not going to be the best at everything. Maybe not even the best at anything. But I’ll encourage her to try her hardest and devote the time necessary to become her own personal best, and that will be enough.

When I was in seventh grade, I tried out for the basketball team. I wasn’t very good – I’m not what you’d call “coordinated.” I let myself get discouraged and quit the team a couple weeks before our first game. I went to a small rural school. I wasn’t going to get cut (nobody was) and I probably would have even got to play some, no matter how bad I truly was, but I didn’t give myself the chance. I regret not sticking it out for the season, even now 20 years later.

Once in awhile, you get stuck and need a little help. That's what Mom and Daddy are here for!

Once in awhile, you get stuck and need a little help. That’s what Mom and Daddy are here for!

I want Little C to be the kind of person who finishes what she starts. One who, if she says something will get done, gets it done right and when promised. Someone who understands that a job worth doing is a job worth doing well.

Little C, my little farm girl, not everything in life will be easy, but the things that are worth it are worth hanging in there to do to the best of your ability.

Leave a Reply

