Day 29: A Place For You

Here is the inspiration for this blog series:

Toy

I was browsing the toy aisle at Tuesday Morning a couple months ago when I stumbled upon this Little People toy. I'm a big fan of the Little People, and when I saw this particular set I knew it had to belong to Little C.

I love that it's a tractor and cow, but the thing that made me the most excited was the fact that the person included was a little girl.

I want Little C to know there will always be a place for her to come back and be part of the farm, if that’s what she wants to do.

When I told Big C I was thinking about doing this series, I asked for his input on possible topics. The very first thing he said, without a moment’s hesitation, was “I want her to know that the farm is an option.” He has told me many times that his dream is to be able to make the farm successful enough to pass it on to the next generation, and that is the goal we keep in mind while making decisions today.

Of course, we’re not going to force her to become a farmer. Farming is a lifestyle you must have a true passion for, or it doesn’t work. If she would marry someone someday who wanted to farm, we want him to know he’s welcome as well. That’s how Big C became a farmer, and we’re both grateful to my dad and grandpa for giving him that opportunity.

More than 95 percent of farms in the U.S. are family owned, and I want nothing more than to make sure we can continue to keep ours in the family by passing it along to Little C’s generation someday.

Little C, my little farm girl, I want you to know, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that there will be a place for you on our family’s farm, if that’s where your passion lies.

Leave a Reply

